Most ketogenic dieters will already be avoiding grains, so most keto diets are typically also 100% gluten-free. However, there are a couple of keto-friendly products that have gluten in them. Many soy sauces and low carb bread and tortilla products, for example, have gluten and other wheat derivatives in them. For this reason, make sure you read your food labels carefully to avoid gluten completely.

Here are some common ingredients that have gluten in them:

  • Wheat
  • Wheat flour
  • All-purpose flour
  • Varieties and derivatives of wheat such as:
  • Wheatberries
  • Durum
  • Emmer
  • Semolina
  • Spelt
  • Farina
  • Farro
  • Graham
  • Rye
  • Barley
  • Triticale
  • Malt in various forms including: malted barley flour, malted milk or milkshakes, malt extract, malt syrup, malt flavoring, malt vinegar
  • Brewer’s Yeast
  • Wheat Starch that has not been processed to remove the presence of gluten to below 20ppm

Also, watch out for beer, malt beverages, soy sauce, cream sauces, noodles, breading, croutons, and fried foods. Unless the packaging says it’s gluten free and it doesn’t have any gluten-containing ingredients in it, then these products will most likely have gluten in them.

Whether you are gluten-free or not, it is best to make most of your food at home using keto recipes and have the rest of your calories from minimally processed snacks like nuts and cheese.

Was this article helpful?
Dislike 0